top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSahmyah

Ideas Ideas IDEAS: House Decoration and Organization

So I have been living at my house for going on three months, now, and I only just ordered my couch two weeks ago. Yes, I have been using my papasan and "accent chair" as my living room furniture. I mean...my TV is still on the floor. I'm just particular about what I want and I know I have a vision, so I don't want to just settle for anything. Not just settle, but also waste money on something that I didn't fully want.


The Bedroom

My room was the first to have any added piece of furniture and that is literally my bed. I wanted it to be pretty simple in there, though, so I wasn't (and still am not) too pressed to get a nightstand, dresser, or anything of the sort. I do want shelves in there though. I really think that will help get certain things off of the floor like my wax warmer and my devices and such. But, what's really on my mind is a rug! I love to walk barefoot around the house and despite how many times I sweep, Swiffer, and mop, there's always going to be remnants of dust on the ground. Rugs help with controlling the amount of dust that travels throughout the house because...well because they trap it. So a rug in the room would serve mainly for me being able to wipe my feet before getting in the bed...no one likes a dirty, dusty bed.


The same goes for all over the house, though. I need a runner in the hallway and in the kitchen (two for the kitchen, actually), an area rug in the living room and bedroom and then small rugs/mats for the front and back door since a lot of dust gets in from those areas. I do eventually want to decorate and "ruggify" the pet room and office/studio/workout room, but they aren't as heavily on my mind as the other areas.


The Living Room

This couch...is going to be perfect! Since the living room and kitchen are connected, I matched the couch with my barstools, so everything will look cohesive and clean. The vibe is supposed to be earthy and bright. Specific enough that I don't get too overwhelmed with ideas, but general enough that I can be creative. I have a ton of plants but none of them are in their "display" form. They're just all sitting on the counter. So, first step with decorating will definitely be creating some macramé hangers and installing hooks into the ceiling...and that sounds so scary! Hopefully I can find a way to do so without having to actually put a hole in the ceiling. Definitely comment on this post any recommendations you have for DIY ceiling hooks without holes. I'm more willing to screw something in than having to create an inch-wide hole to install a hook, so I'm all ears.

Since my couch will be a solid color, I'm think of adding dimension and color to the room via the rug and the art I'll put up. I don't want the rug to restrict me from changing out art that may be very colorful so I'm hesitant to get something other than an earth-tone rug. I already know where I want to get all of my rugs from, so it makes it easier coming from one site; however, they have A TON of choices and I have so much saved in my favorites already for the living room, alone. Again...don't want to settle for something that I don't really want, so I want to take my time with the rug since pattern and color play a HUGE part in the selection process...for me at least.

Speaking of art: I need freedom with the couch and rug because there are pieces I want that in NO WAY match the rest of the living room décor. So that's why earth tones are usually my go to for being able to throw (virtually) anything with it without them clashing.


Uh…Everywhere Else?

When it comes to the house as a whole, I really just want it to be an earthy, but colorful, lively, and bright vibe. Earth tones are already everywhere, so now I need to incorporate more color. What’s funny is that I’m trying to do the same with my wardrobe. Everything I wear is basically all neutral earth tones, so I’m trying to get rid of a lot of them (probably about half) so that I can incorporate more color without having an unnecessary amount of clothes. I’ll go deeper into the clothes in another post, though.

As of now, my couch is supposed to be here on Tuesday. Hopefully it all works out because I am stoked to be able to lay down comfortably in the living room. I can’t wait to start decorating and bringing the house to life.


I’m curious to know if you’d be interested in seeing the plans that I draw up for my house when it comes to decorating and renovating. Let me know in the comments.


Thank you for being here. I appreciate you taking the time to read about what I’ve got going on here. Have a most Sunny day!



Recent Posts

See All

Sometimes, Life is Just So...

Sometimes, life is just so disappointing. As a young adult I've had to learn time and time again that life will continuously disappoint...

Comments


bottom of page