top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSahmyah

On My Plate: Turkey Necks Over Rice

So, I figured it would be nice to have a segment of just sharing what I happen to be eating. Most of the time I don't really follow specific recipes and I'm not always the one cooking, but good food is worth sharing, so I'm doing my due diligence. The other day my partner and I were grocery shopping and in the meat section we came across some turkey legs. I usually get excited for these because before moving down here I only had them once on a cruise ship. The next time I encountered some was during a carnival event on my campus. At the time I was a stable vegetarian for about 6 months, so I didn't partake in any. Fast forward to my internship back in June - August of 2020 where I purchased a leg on one of our grocery runs and prepared it on the campfire. Good times...goood times. That was the last time I had a turkey leg. Anyways...back to the grocery store.

I see the legs and he comes over and being that he's taller he notices the shelf above has turkey necks. There was notable excitement that matched mine. He shared with me that a common southern dish he had as a kid was turkey necks over rice. I'd never had the dish before, so we went for the necks as our chosen turkey part for this spur-of-the-moment grocery run.


The only extra ingredient he picked up for the meal was this browning sauce. I've heard of it before, but never used it. Most likely had it in a meal, for sure, though. Everything else we needed was already at my place, so kudos to us for saving some money on this trip. He used a green bell pepper, half of a large yellow onion, some fresh garlic, water, some of the browning sauce, and some cornstarch to thicken up the gravy. After chopping all of the veggies he put the turkey necks in a large pot with some olive oil, threw them on top, added some water, browning and covered it on a low heat for a couple of hours. Keep in mind the turkey was already smoked, but the meat tends to be tough so the slow cook made it nice and tender.

Near the end, my partner added the cornstarch to let the sauce thicken up and then it was ready to serve. We just had it with some jasmine rice. I chose to accompany mine with sliced avocado (to balance the saltiness) and lime (to balance the fat). I usually always have lime or lemon with any meal that involves a higher fat content (so, usually red meaty dishes).

Needless to say, this meal was succulent. It is such a hearty and indulgent meal and it's simple to make, as well. You could probably throw in cabbage or carrots with the necks if you wanted to. My drink of choice was a cold glass of pure coconut water. Let me know down in the comments if you have ever tried or made this meal for yourself and what you thought of it, if you did. I hope you enjoyed knowing what was on my plate.

Thank you for being here; I really appreciate it.

Have a Sunny day.

Comments


bottom of page